Headlines & Highlights

History of Art and Architecture Students Design and Install Martin Creed Exhibit
preview image
Students enrolled in the Museum Studies course have designed and installed a solo exhibition of the work of London artist Martin Creed. MARTIN CREED: more and less will be shown through November 26 at Pitt’s University Art Gallery.
University to Host National Remembrance Day Roll Call, November 11
preview image
For the third consecutive year, the University of Pittsburgh will participate in the National Remembrance Day Roll Call event to honor American service men and women from 10 a.m. to noon on November 11, Veterans Day, in Heinz Chapel.
University of Pittsburgh Stages Opens Season With Pittsburgh Premiere of Venus
The production company for Pitt’s Department of Theatre Arts—now known as University of Pittsburgh Stages—presents the Pittsburgh premiere of Venus, written by Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright Suzan-Lori Parks. It runs October 24 through November 10 at the Studio Theatre, in the basement of Pitt’s Cathedral of Learning.
Public Lecture Celebrates Higgs Boson Discovery, Highlights Pitt Contributions to Research
preview image
Join us on October 30 at 4:30 p.m. in the University Club to learn more about the 2013 Nobel Prize-winning discovery of the Higgs boson particle and the involvement of Pitt scientists in this groundbreaking effort.
Iris Marion Young Awardees Announced
Four members of the Pitt community will be honored with the Iris Marion Young Award for Political Engagement at a ceremony on October 24 at the Pittsburgh Athletic Association, Pennsylvania Room.
Chevron Science Center Lab Renovations Among Approved Projects
preview image
The Property and Facilities Committee of the University of Pittsburgh Board of Trustees gave funding approval at its meeting October 8, for preliminary project development for the renovation of two science laboratories on the University’s Pittsburgh campus.
Professor Emeritus to Receive BNY Mellon Living Legacy Award
preview image
As the annual University of Pittsburgh Jazz Seminar and Concert enters its 43rd exciting year, its founder, Pitt Professor Emeritus of Music Nathan Davis, prepares to accept the BNY Mellon Jazz 2013 Living Legacy Award in a special ceremony October 5 at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts.
Nominations Invited for Bellet Teaching Excellence Awards
Recognize extraordinary achievement and innovation in undergraduate teaching by nominating a Dietrich School faculty member for a 2014 Tina & David Bellet Teaching Excellence Award. Nomination deadline is October 31.
Nominations Invited for Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Advising
Celebrate excellence in academic advising by nominating a Dietrich School faculty academic advisor for the 2014 Ampco-Pittsburgh Prize for Excellence in Advising. Nomination deadline is October 31.
Dietrich School Undergraduate is Recipient of 2013 Pitt-BNY Mellon Jazz Scholarship
Dietrich School senior Nicholas Amoscato, a tenor saxophonist, is the recipient of the 2013 Pitt-BNY Mellon Jazz Scholarship. The $5,000 tuition prize is awarded annually to a Pitt music student and is based on submitted tapes of jazz standards that are judged by a panel of nationally recognized jazz musicians.